Login(mail) :
Password :
Forgot your password?


*** DEADLINE EXTENDED January 12, 2013 ***

Third Workshop on Hybrid Autonomous Systems (HAS 2013)                      

A satellite event of European Joint Conferences on Theory and Practice of Software ETAPS 2013

March 17, 2013, Rome, Italy




The interest on autonomous systems is increasing both in industry and academia. Such systems must operate with limited human intervention in a changing environment and must be able to compensate for significant system failures without external intervention. The hybrid discrete-continuous models constitute appropriate models of autonomous systems . Hybrid systems have behaviours characterised by  the interaction between continuous and discrete dynamics and research in the area is driven by  several school of thoughts. One approach is mainly focussed on applications to automation systems and the models and methods are centred on the concept of hybrid automaton (deterministic or probabilistic). A distinct school of thought interprets hybrid systems as control systems with regime change. Such systems are highly adaptive and suitable for modelling autonomic behaviours. The most prominent models of this approach are the stochastic hybrid systems and the mixed logical and dynamical systems. There is a clear research opportunity to combine these approaches for developing models, methods, techniques, methodologies, tools and environments for autonomous systems engineering. This workshop brings together researchers interested in all aspects of autonomy and resilience of hybrid systems.


Topics include (but are not limited to): 

* new modelling paradigms for autonomous systems;

* verification and safety certification techniques;

* modelling, analysis and control of hybrid systems;

* uncertainty and stochastic modelling;

* multi-agent systems;

* algebraic and categorical methods;

* interaction between hybrid modelling and complexity science;

* reports on case studies and practical experiments;

* autonomous systems in natural science (e.g. from biology, ecology, climate).


* Maria Domenica di Benedetto, L'Aquila University, IT

* Radu Grosu, Vienna University of Technology, AU

* Rafael Wisniewski, Aalborg University, DEN


In order to encourage participation and discussion, this workshop solicits the submission of regular papers, which must contain original work, and must not have been previously published, nor be under consideration for publication elsewhere. The accepted submissions should clearly indicate the membership to one of the following categories:

* technical contributions;

* tutorials on a topic of importance;

* surveys on large extent cross-disciplinary research (e.g., project outcomes);wor

* reports on early stage or ongoing work.

For each category of submission the novelty of the submission has to be clearly stated and the page limit should vary between 6 and 15 pages. All submissions must be in PDF format and use the EPTCS latex style, see http://style.eptcs.org/. Submissions can be made on the following website: 


The workshop PC will review all regular paper submissions to select appropriate ones, ones for acceptance in each category, based on their relevance, merit,  originality, and technical content. The authors of accepted submissions are expected to present and discuss their work at the workshop. Accepted regular papers will be published in the Electronic Proceedings in Theoretical Computer Science (EPTCS). A special issue in a journal is under consideration.


*** DEADLINE EXTENDED January 12, 2013 ***

Submission (regular paper): January 3, 2013

Notification: January 24, 2013

Final version (ETAPS proceedings): February 14, 2013

Workshop: March 17, 2013

Final version (EPTCS post proceedings): TBA


PC Chairs:

* Luca Bortolussi, University of Trieste, IT

* Manuela Bujorianu, University of Warwick, UK

* Giordano Pola,  University of L’Aquila, IT

Program Committee:

* Ezio Bartocci, TU Wien, AU

* Maria Domenica di Benedetto, L'Aquila University, IT

* Alberto Casagrande, Univeristy of Trieste, IT

* Thao Dang, Verimag, FR

* Louise Dennis, University of Liverpool, UK

* Clare Dixon, University of Liverpool, UK

* Alexandre Donzé, UC Berkeley, US

* Martin Fränzle, Carl von Ossietzky Universität, DE

* Ichiro Hasuo, University of Tokio, JP

* Agung Julius, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, US

* Toshimitsu Ushio, Osaka University, JP

* Giordano Pola, L'Aquila University, IT (co-Chair)

* Rom Langerak, University of Twente, NL

* David Parker, University of Birmingham, UK

* Guido Sanguinetti, University of Edinburgh, UK

* Olaf Stursberg, University of Kassel, DE

Submit an announcement